Saturday, April 13, 2013

press science

As predicted here yesterday, sort of (I thougtt he might, but couldn't be sure), Russian President Valdimir Putin today 
issued a "torture list" of 18 Americans banned from entering Russia, to counter the US's release of the "Magnitsky list," of 18 Russians banned from the US because of their possible involvement in the death of the whistle blower Sergei Magnistsky, who died in a notorious Moscow jail  under suspicious circumstances.

The Americans barred from Russia include two officials from President George W. Bush's administration who the ministry said were linked to the "legalization and application of torture" - David Addington, a former chief of staff of Vice President Dick Cheney, and John Choon Yoo, a former Justice Department lawyer (pictured here, and chief author of the Bush torture memos, ed.).

The list includes two ex-commanders of the U.S. military detention centers at the Guantanamo Bay U.S. Naval Base, whose detainees have included Russian citizens.

I think Putin should have made a list of 21 instead of 18, for reasons I've he stated in the post directly below.

No comments: